The island of Ireland is 304 miles/486 km long and 172 miles/275 km wide and is divided into four historic provinces – Ulster, Munster, Leinster and Connaught.

Within these four provinces are 32 counties. The Republic of Ireland consists of 26 counties and Northern Ireland consists of six counties.